Transformation Thursday

IMG_4419Since the first day I brought Arya home, we have never spent more than six hours apart. For the first time this weekend, I spent two days with out her.

Me and a few friends took a weekend vacation to Arkansas. I was without my baby girl from Friday night until Sunday afternoon. This trip had been planned for three weeks, but the reality of spending a weekend without her didn’t sink in until the moment we parted.

Bobbi, my old softball coach, was the person I asked to watch Arya for the weekend. She is a dog owner and her dog, Zoey, is extremely well-behaved. On Friday, I dropped Arya off at Bobbi’s house. The fact that I would be without her still didn’t seem real. When we arrived at the house, Bobbi and Zoey met us in the front yard. The dogs played together in the grass while Bobbi and I took Arya’s supplies inside. I brought her kennel, dog bowls, dog food, a few toys, her treats, and of course her leash.

After my car was emptied, we brought the dogs inside. I sat and talked with Bobbi for a few more minutes, but then it was time for me to leave. I said goodbye to Arya and started to walk towards the front door. Arya followed me. I told her “no” and that she was staying, but she just sat down and tilted her head as if she was confused. I bent over for one last kiss from her. Then I told her to stay and slowly walked out the front door.

I think she knew what was happening because she started whining and scratching the door. It was very hard not to turn around. When I got into my car, it hit me. I realized that I was leaving my baby girl for the whole weekend.

I decided the easiest way to get through the weekend would be to not think of her as much. I was doing really good. I didn’t talk about her too much, I didn’t get sad too often, and I didn’t text Bobbi all weekend to check in on Arya. Everything was going smooth until Sunday around 10 am. Bobbi sent me a picture (posted above) of Arya and said, “She misses her mama!” After reading that message, I couldn’t take it anymore. I had to see her. Just a few hours later, I was on the road, heading back to my baby girl.

When I got to Bobbi’s house, I couldn’t believe my eyes. Arya seemed to have gained almost five pounds and looked so much bigger. Arya and I don’t spend enough time apart so I don’t really see how fast she is growing. Seeing her everyday makes it difficult for me to see her transformation; until I look at old pictures. But this weekend, I finally got to see how fast she grows; even if it was only for two days.

4 thoughts on “Transformation Thursday

    • I find myself looking at her old pictures and videos all the time. Every time I look at them, I am amazed how much she has grown. The very first video I ever took of her makes me tear up each time I watch it.

Leave a Reply

